LOR Dilemma

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

LOR Dilemma

Postby 2014 » Sun Oct 17, 2010 9:55 pm

Ok so here is my dilemma.

I had 3 LORs lined up.
1. From a professor who I studied abroad with who is not an instructor at my UG, but is fairly well known in his field and who was eager to write the letter for me. He completed it and sent it in within a week of when I asked him, a month before I requested he be done by.

2. From a long time family friend who is a dean at a large state school that I do not attend. She most certainly wrote me an exceptional letter and has an academic title to give some credibility, but without having actually taught me, I understand this one won't be looked at the same way as an academic LOR. She turned it in on time, it is processed.

3. From a professor at my UG who I have taken 2 courses from and who I also traveled abroad with. This one should be the most relevant one given that he teaches at my UG and I have had multiple courses with him, however it will also come across as the most generic since he was the least willing to write it. I asked him to send it by the first week of October, and gave him everything by the end of August. It is NOT received, and I'm not sure what to do. I know that I could just go to his office and ask, but the thing is, I sent an email last week offering to give him anything additional he needed, and obviously subtly reminding him, but that email has gone unanswered. I am now afraid to go to his office and come across as nagging.

I am HOPING that what happened is that it slipped his mind and he saw my email and decided to write and send it and then reply after to say it was done. That is obviously an unknown though.

So anyways, what to do.
Assuming his letter isn't in before the October LSAT posts, should I submit applications with the 2 LORs I have in and then update with his later either proactively or in the case of waitlists?