Former military "hooahs" turned law students/lawyers?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jessedvhs

Former military "hooahs" turned law students/lawyers?

Postby jessedvhs » Fri Oct 15, 2010 10:56 am

Hey all,
I am new to TLS forum, wondering if anyone on the forum came from a military background--currently applying, in school, or graduated & practicing?
I recently transitioned out of the US Army as an infantry officer and am shooting for the 2011 LS Class, either TX, DC, PA, or MA.
Would love to connect and get some feedback: on the change in scenery/atmosphere, possible "military friendly" schools, and the reliability of 9/11 GI Bill/Yellow Ribbon Program (or lack thereof).
Thanks. RLTW!

bk1

Re: Former military "hooahs" turned law students/lawyers?

Postby bk1 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:22 am

2011 means graduating class of 2011, at least in the context of this subforum. You're looking for the entering class of 2011 or the class of 2014.

jessedvhs

Postby jessedvhs » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:35 am

Thanks, but away from archiving purposes, is proper designation really that important? Don't most TLSers just scan the "new" posts anyway? Reposting might be obnoxious. Again, still a "newbie."

Oban

Postby Oban » Fri Oct 15, 2010 11:47 am

I think most law schools are military friendly, It seems most have a few former members of the services in the class. The only negative thing about the military you are bound to hear is that their recruitment on campus violates every schools(well maybe not some certain southern/conservative schools) non discrimination policy. Aside from that no one is against anything military and it will probably give you a leg up in admissions and garner at bit more respect from your fellow students/professors.

bk1

Postby bk1 » Fri Oct 15, 2010 4:37 pm