What to do--a freshman undergrad looking to make his way.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
jackfriedman

What to do--a freshman undergrad looking to make his way.

Postby jackfriedman » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:42 pm

Hi guys,

I am currently a freshman the University of Chicago, and am starting to feel like I will really want to go to law school at some point after undergrad. I am not too concerned with the major details of the process yet at this time, but am looking to set myself up with a good CV for the near future.

I'm a bit concerned about the prospect of my GPA not being high enough for the HYS set. Given what I have heard about Chicago's placement ability, it would seem that the GPA's tend to trend pretty low comparatively here. I ask the following question for multiple reasons, but for you guys, frankly: would I be better off transferring from here to a place where the potential to get more A's is going to be higher? Does Chicago have any kind of a 'gpa bump' in law school admissions office at these top schools?

I'm a kid who has always been interested in politics and has been involved from a young age. I've acted as an intern on Obama for America, a NYC Council race, and may work for the Rahm Emanuel for mayor bid here in Chicago. The crux of my extracurricular activities and the focus of my personal statements/recommendations will be coming from a political/public service angle. Will leadership posts in politics/community service be at all beneficial?

What is the best time to start preparing for the LSAT? I am not sure if I want to apply straight out of school (something that I could use advice on). I was considering maybe applying to a program like TFA, Peace Corps, Americorps, or for a UK-USA scholarship. Are any of these better routes to eventual success in the law school game?

All the best,
Jack

bk1

Re: What to do--a freshman undergrad looking to make his way.

Postby bk1 » Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:44 pm