Do you need to tailor a Part Time APP?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
btr77

Do you need to tailor a Part Time APP?

Postby btr77 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:14 pm

So I have been working professionally in DC for the last two years, and so to me it makes sense to apply to my area schools PT. The obvious reason is I would like to keep a solid pay check as long as possible. The other, perhaps more obvious reason, is that I clearly have a better chance PT vs. FT. However, do I need to prove to admissions solely that I am a good candidate, or do I need to prove that I am a good PART TIME candidate?

I have a good government job with a security clearance, but I am far from a 30 year old mid level corporate accountant looking for a career change, if you know what I mean. I guess what I'm saying is, can people really just apply PT because of the seemingly "relaxed" standards, or do you have to fit a part-time "mold?" Building off of that, I would also like to apply PT to some schools in my home NYC. Even though I fully intend to work while enrolled, am I a weaker PT candidate there because I do not currently have a job there?

Please advise

BTW...I'm a 163/3.6 looking to PT at GWU, FORDHAM, GMU

btr77

Re: Do you need to tailor a Part Time APP?

Postby btr77 » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:15 pm

Aaaanyone? lol, no one else is wondering/ has dealt with this?

ViIIager

Postby ViIIager » Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:24 pm

Apply like normal. At least at GMU, I haven't seen any major difference in full-time or part-time applicants--in fact, one quarter of this year's 1E (part-time) class is unemployed and were placed the evening program by making the mistake of checking both the "Full-time" and "Part-time" boxes on their app. Your day job would be a good source for a personal statement though.