Letters of Recommendation -- How Important??

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
pdrez

Letters of Recommendation -- How Important??

Postby pdrez » Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:59 pm

I have been out of school for 4 years and cannot for the life of me get a hold of any past professors, who have either moved on from the school or simply won't respond. Also, I have been primarily acting since I graduated, so I am lacking in "normal job" references. I had a job as Media Planner in NY, but I cannot get a letter of recommendation from my supervisor there, who has respectfully declined due to being too busy.

My father is a lawyer and he has two co-workers that have been friends of the family for years and who have said they will write a LOR on my behalf. Will that suffice? It is not a professional relationship, nor an academic one. But I find myself literally out of options.

How important are LORs in the application process? More or less important than GPA, LSAT and Personal Statement? Can they make or break an application? I am fearing that my lack of solid LORs could derail my plans for law school.

Any advice or words of wisdom?

Thanks!

acrossthelake

Re: Letters of Recommendation -- How Important??

Postby acrossthelake » Thu Oct 07, 2010 5:03 pm

pdrez wrote:I have been out of school for 4 years and cannot for the life of me get a hold of any past professors, who have either moved on from the school or simply won't respond. Also, I have been primarily acting since I graduated, so I am lacking in "normal job" references. I had a job as Media Planner in NY, but I cannot get a letter of recommendation from my supervisor there, who has respectfully declined due to being too busy.

My father is a lawyer and he has two co-workers that have been friends of the family for years and who have said they will write a LOR on my behalf. Will that suffice? It is not a professional relationship, nor an academic one. But I find myself literally out of options.