Current undergrad: To W or not to W? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
drdreesq

New

Current undergrad: To W or not to W?

Post by drdreesq » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:12 pm

I'm a current junior in undergraduate. I'm a Political Science major. I have pretty much straight-A's on my transcript, with a 3.9 average. I want to maintain this because it may be my best selling point in getting into TLS's.

I have this one NON-REQUIRED class where I'm pretty sure I'm going to get a B-. Now I still have a chance to withdraw at this point, so I want to know....To the LS admission officers, which one looks worse: A B- or a W?

YCrevolution

Gold

Re: Current undergrad: To W or not to W?

Post by YCrevolution » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:15 pm

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:15 pm

Non punitive, right?

It's not the B- that looks bad, it's how much it drags your GPA down. I would say withdraw assuming non-punitive.

Gold

Post by 005618502 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:25 pm

Definitely withdraw. Or if your school allows it, change it to Pass/Fail. that will never look bad, assuming you pass. Not all schools alow this option. When they do the credit will automatically be counted as an elective credit. Talk to an adviso about it

jarofsoup

Gold

Post by jarofsoup » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:30 pm

Some schools let you W and then retake to replace the W on the transcript. Could you do this?

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

WestOfTheRest

Silver

Post by WestOfTheRest » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:31 pm

W

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:32 pm

jarofsoup wrote:Some schools let you W and then retake to replace the W on the transcript. Could you do this?
Won't LSAC see both anyways?

WestOfTheRest

Silver

Post by WestOfTheRest » Wed Oct 06, 2010 5:34 pm

bk187 wrote:
jarofsoup wrote:Some schools let you W and then retake to replace the W on the transcript. Could you do this?