0L Summer Employment

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

0L Summer Employment

Postby yoitsmebenny » Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:41 pm

I'm finishing up my last year of undergrad, and I was wondering what types of employment 0Ls get during the summer. As a business student, I've had major internships that paid fairly well each summer of college, but I fear I won't qualify for many internships related to my major (Business Information Systems) seeing as I already will have my degree by summer.

I also don't want to trick companies into thinking I'll be a full-time employee for a substantial period and then leave for school after 3 months.

I've got interviews with some prestigious consulting firms coming up next week and I'm wondering how to approach the whole "I'm going to law school, can I have a temp position?"

I certainly don't want to have to flip burgers for the summer. My job during the school year requires me to be an enrolled student at the university to keep my position, so I can't stay doing that either.

What are you guys doing for employment?

Re: 0L Summer Employment

Postby BlueDiamond » Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:50 pm

Before anything else I'd give the consulting firms notice of your plans before going so as not to waste their time if they aren't looking to fill a temporary position. But by summer time you'll already have been admitted somewhere and accepted. So, work wherever you want. Lemonade stand.. paper boy.. whatever

Postby Prairie » Fri Oct 01, 2010 11:23 pm

yoitsmebenny wrote:I've got interviews with some prestigious consulting firms coming up next week