PhD student's dilemma...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JurisDoctorate

PhD student's dilemma...

Postby JurisDoctorate » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:40 am

I am a PhD student at a top 6 school and I will be applying to their law school, this fall. My GPA is exactly at their median but I don't think my LSAT will be (practice tests have been in the low 160's and I will be taking the October and December test). In all honesty, I believe I can get to 167-170, or so, but it's still possible that I'll be below the median.

So here's the dilemma: I only want to go to my school's law school, their JD/PhD program, but I will go to another one if I absolutely can't get in. I am thinking of putting out applications to other law schools so I can have leverage for scholarships. While I have heard that all JD/PhD students, at my school, get full scholarships - the site says that the full scholarships are only for top candidates. I am concerned that putting out applications to other schools will diminish my standing in my school's eyes. I feel that only applying to my school will increase my chances of being accepted, but may leave me a bit susceptible as far as scholarships (and I have ZERO desire to pay anything for law school).

Now, let's distill this down to answerable questions:

Does only applying to one school improve one's chances of getting in?
Will a school's scholarship decision be influenced by other school's scholarship offers (even if they aren't exactly peer institutions)?
As a JD/PhD candidate, is there more leeway on the LSAT?

Thanks all.

DearCan

Re: PhD student's dilemma...

Postby DearCan » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:54 am