Bar Admission Character and Fitness Question

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
pauwelsd

Bar Admission Character and Fitness Question

Postby pauwelsd » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:02 pm

I have a question regarding the Character and Fitness questions on the law applications I was hoping to get some direction on.

Regarding this question: Have you ever been suspended, disqualified or otherwise disciplined as a member of any profession or in military service?

I was suspended from my job for disciplinary reasons recently and I'm a little hung up on this question. My question is does "member of any profession" restrict the question to professions such as doctors, professors, and the like or is it regarding all careers. I'm a restaurant manager so I'm not exactly a "professional" in the strict sense of the term.

I'd love to hear whatever comments the board has on this question. Thanks in advance!

gdane

Re: Bar Admission Character and Fitness Question

Postby gdane » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:13 pm

Id disclose it if it was something major. If you were caught stealing from the company or whatnot then disclose. If you were suspended because you were caught talking on your cellphone or something silly I wouldnt bother. Some may disagree with me.

Action Jackson

Postby Action Jackson » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:51 pm

Disclose. C&F's check with your past employers.

Marionberry

Postby Marionberry » Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:27 pm

I would call or email the school and ask. My interpretation is that this question is asking about suspension or disciplinary action taken against a licensed professional, like a doctor, lawyer, counselor, teacher, etc. If you got suspended from a job at a restaurant for calling in sick too many times or giving your friends comped appetizers, I don't think that's what this is asking about.

reasonable_man

Postby reasonable_man » Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:31 pm