Which UG would you recommend: UC__ or CSU__, for law school?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ComatoseClown

Which UG would you recommend: UC__ or CSU__, for law school?

Postby ComatoseClown » Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:24 am

I'm an undergrad transfer student whose UCSD admission was unfortunately revoked last week at the last minute. I'm now re-applying for junior standing for Fall 2011.

My questions: If it were you, would you choose a CSU over a UC school, given the longstanding notion that the prestige of your undergraduate institution is not a very important factor as your undergraduate LSAT & GPA? If so, which CSU or UC (excluding Berkeley and UCLA) would you choose?

Facts to consider:
-Your goal is to attend a Top-14 law school.
-You're an urban studies major. [What are your thoughts on this btw? I've declared this major because I'm interested in the subject, not because the courses are easy.]
-Your LSAT diagnostic is a 169.

Btw, something I've been considering is applying to Chapman University for Spring 2011 -- but their sticker price is $40k a year for tuition alone. The only reason I'm considering is because they're the only decent undergrad (to me) that's open for Spring 2011. Though I'm worried as to the quality I'll get at Chapman. Should I just choose a CSU or UC for Fall 2011 and get a high GPA and two decent rec letters with hopes of earning admission to a Top-14?

bk1

Re: Which UG would you recommend: UC__ or CSU__, for law school?

Postby bk1 » Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:29 am

Wherever you can get the best grades and is cheapest.

Knock

Postby Knock » Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:41 am

bk1 wrote:Wherever you can get the best grades and is cheapest.

This. Just go to the best UC you can get into, imo.

ComatoseClown

Postby ComatoseClown » Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:48 am

bk1 wrote: