How to fit a blog/site into an LS application?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Day2Daze

How to fit a blog/site into an LS application?

Postby Day2Daze » Sun Sep 12, 2010 3:47 pm

Im sorry if this question has already been covered before, just looking for some ideas/insight on what to do...

Where do I mention my pretty successful blog? I spend a fuckin load of time on it and its got a pretty good readership, average 4,000 hits/week. So do I mention it, and how? (its political, not a cooking blog or something totally unrelated to what I studied)
OR should I just include a section in my resume with a list of my articles that were published on other sites or papers? This would be just a sampling of everything on my blog, but it would be less complicated.

Any ideas? I appreciate any feedback, thankss :)

oshberg28

Re: How to fit a blog/site into an LS application?

Postby oshberg28 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 4:47 pm

It'll be interesting to see what the responses are to this....I don't think it's a good idea. Anyone can blog - it's not an accomplishment. It's like writing in a journal and putting it online. I don't think the adcomms are going to care. You may respond that it's an accomplishment that you have about 4000 readers. Perhaps...but to me this is like putting on your application that you have 1000 facebook friends. Maybe others have opposite views though. I very well could be wrong.

Day2Daze

Postby Day2Daze » Sun Sep 12, 2010 4:53 pm