Soon to be retired, applying to LS

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Rick471

Soon to be retired, applying to LS

Postby Rick471 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:25 am

After much thought, I have decided to apply to LS.

I am 39 years old and about to retire as a Lieutenant having worked 20 years for the city police department. I am married and have a 5-year old. My pension will bring me about 60k a year, so I always have that to fall back on.

I have not taken the Lsat yet, but have been studying for it and plan to take it in December. I will be 40 when, and if, I get accepted to LS. I want to attend my local state university so I am putting all my eggs into one basket. The cost to attend will be about 60,000.

I graduated from a medium-sized Baptist university in 2009 with a degree in Criminal Justice. My gpa is 3.56.

I suppose if I get in I will be 43 years old when I finish! Damn!!

Will I be looked at differently by the university because of my history? age? I have seen that I qualify for URM status since I am of Mexican descent. (Mother was born in Mexico).

Would I be smart in looking to apply to other schools?

What about when I am done? Will potential employers probably pick younger people because of my age?

Ill tell you guys/gals, I may be 39 but I feel like a high school kid all over again deciding what to do about my education! :)

PKSebben

Re: Soon to be retired, applying to LS

Postby PKSebben » Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:27 am

Any idea what kind of law you'd like to practice?

revolution724

Postby revolution724 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:29 am

Your age will not prevent you from getting into school. Most of your history would if anything be a (small) bonus, and you could write a hell of a diversity statement. So yeah, what do you want to do?

Rick471

Postby Rick471 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 10:37 am

PKSebben wrote:Any idea what kind of law you'd like to practice?