2 Q's re: transcripts and resume Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
kellycane

New

2 Q's re: transcripts and resume

Post by kellycane » Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:47 pm

Hello everyone,

First question is regarding transcripts. I took a summer course at a local college in a foreign language, received an "A," and had the transcript sent to my degree-granting institution where the course and grade appear. Since this grade is included on my degree-granting institution's transcript, do I need to request a transcript from the local college where I took the class, or is this redundant?

Second question is regarding the resume. I am currently working as a part-time nanny for three young children, and I was wondering if this will look odd/stand out in a negative way to the admission's committee (although I have a degree in English, so maybe it's not entirely unsurprising, lol). Is there a professional way to include this employment and describe the job other than "fed babies, changed diapers, and did baby sign language?" lol.

Thank you in advance for any assistance!

Platinum

Re: 2 Q's re: transcripts and resume

Post by 2014 » Thu Sep 09, 2010 8:51 pm

In terms of the transcript, I would suggest you have both schools send it regardless. While your degree granting might be sufficient, if LSAC counts the A twice, that only benefits you.

As for the resume, if you have any better jobs, even if they are older, I would list them first. If you simply have nothing else to list, then I don't think being a nanny will hurt you, just play up the responsibility, patience, and initiative that it requires.

kellycane

New

Post by kellycane » Thu Sep 09, 2010 9:05 pm

As for the resume, if you have any better jobs, even if they are older, I would list them first. If you simply have nothing else to list, then I don't think being a nanny will hurt you, just play up the responsibility, patience, and initiative that it requires.