LOR: Do you really need school professors?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
wjun15

LOR: Do you really need school professors?

Postby wjun15 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:37 pm

So I read on the LOR Advice on this site and it says that if you are a current student or recent graduate you should get 2 professors from your school and additional ones from employers.

Well I only have one from a professor and im a recent graduate. does this matter a lot? the other one I have is from one of my employers.

I feel like its a little late to ask another professor (if I can even think of one)...

thanks

WestOfTheRest

Re: LOR: Do you really need school professors?

Postby WestOfTheRest » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:39 pm

wjun15 wrote:So I read on the LOR Advice on this site and it says that if you are a current student or recent graduate you should get 2 professors from your school and additional ones from employers.

Well I only have one from a professor and im a recent graduate. does this matter a lot? the other one I have is from one of my employers.

I feel like its a little late to ask another professor (if I can even think of one)...

thanks

If you are a recent grad you should have at least two LORs from a professor. No one can tell you how much it will matter, but every source says it should be professors.

r6_philly

Postby r6_philly » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:39 pm

I'd be more worried about the schools thinking "Why can't he find another professor to write a LOR?" But I wouldn't worry about it if you can't get another professor to write a good LOR. It's better to not have a second one than a bad second one.

Frank

Postby Frank » Sun Sep 05, 2010 9:49 pm

Last edited by Frank on Sun Sep 26, 2010 9:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wjun15

Postby wjun15 » Sun Sep 05, 2010 10:09 pm

Is giving a month and half notice for LOR too short? I know that many are starting to teach as school season begins...