Young Applicant

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
nycdreamer89

Young Applicant

Postby nycdreamer89 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:29 am

Hey guys. Basically, I'm applying to law school this year after graduating from a flagship public this past May. I have a 169 LSAT and a 3.84 GPA. Many of my credits were from a dual enrollment program, but they are all college courses, and the school is a small college, as opposed to a community college. I'll be retaking the LSAT in October as well (i was PTing a few points higher last September). I'm currently working full time as a teacher, and I have a decent amount of work experience and softs, mostly related to children (I'm planning to do something related to child advocacy). My letters of recommendation should be good, and I'm a solid writer, so I think I should be able to write a good PS.

The only issue is that I will be 20 when I matriculate to law school, and I'm 19 now. I am positive that I want to go to law school this fall, and right now I'm pretty set on public interest. Is my age going to be an issue? Should I write an addendum or a diversity statement, or just leave it alone? Depending on my new LSAT score, would applying to Columbia or NYU ED be a wise decision to offset concerns about my age? I'm just not really sure what the appropriate way to go about this is, since I'd rather not get dinged everywhere, lol. Thank you!

revolution724

Re: Young Applicant

Postby revolution724 » Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:34 am