Worth it to ED Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
QuailMan

New

Worth it to ED

Post by QuailMan » Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:34 pm

So I'm trying to figure the value of ED'ing my #1 school.

My GPA is .08 below their median. Avg LSAT (took twice) is at median and my highest LSAT is one point above.

It sounds like most deans say that ED doesnt really do anything positive or negative to your chances except for a few borderline cases...but it seems like I would be one of those.

I'm visiting next month to see if I'm sure I'm ready to commit there, I graduated so my GPA isnt going anywhere and my apps are going to be ready to go before Halloween, regardless of what I decide.

So do I have anything to gain from ED, or should I just get all my apps in early and see what happens?

2ofspades

Bronze

Re: Worth it to ED

Post by 2ofspades » Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:39 pm

Which school?

whymeohgodno

Gold

Post by whymeohgodno » Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:41 pm

2ofspades wrote:Which school?
Yeh this would help.

esq

Silver

Post by esq » Thu Sep 02, 2010 8:43 pm

I'm going to tag this because I have the same question. Even if it doesn't give you a boost, I wonder if by placing yourself in a select group of applicants by EDing increases the chance that they will spend more time actually considering your app - I read a statistic that said adcomms only give each app about 5 min. Any ideas out there? (Colorado is where I would like to ED)

QuailMan

New

Post by QuailMan » Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:08 pm

whymeohgodno wrote:
2ofspades wrote:Which school?
Yeh this would help.
UPenn

Want to continue reading?

Register now to search topics and post comments!

Absolutely FREE!

2ofspades

Bronze

Post by 2ofspades » Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:15 pm

QuailMan wrote:UPenn
If you're sure Penn is your #1 choice, you should ED to avoid getting WLed. Also, Penn doesn't average. If your highest score is a 171, that's what they'll consider.

GettingReady2010

Bronze