Should I wait to apply? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
minnbills

Gold

Should I wait to apply?

Post by minnbills » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:14 pm

Thanks in advance for any help.

My issue revolves mostly around GPA. I am a transfer student, and like others had a poor first semester at college. I finished my first year with a 3.0. Now, my GPA (since being at my new school) is a 3.5.

Based on the various calculators I've used, my LSDAS GPA should be around 3.27.

I've been pushing to graduate in only three years, and I will be starting my third and final year in a few days.

I'm signed up for the OCT LSAT, and am looking to break 170. Lately, my PT's come in mostly in the high 160's. Basically 165-169. Though I started in the low 160's. Obviously, these numbers don't mean anything until I take the real thing.

The schools I'm interested in are as follows: Minnesota, William Mitchell, Colorado, George Washington, and William and Mary. My ultimate caviar dream schools would be Boston, Georgetown and Cornell. Though obviously those are super-reaches.

My question is this, should I wait 'til after this year to apply to allow my GPA to go up so I could have a more realistic shot at schools like GW, Colorado etc? I had a large number of AP credits going into college, so it's still relatively easy to change my GPA.

Thanks.

Knock

Platinum

Re: Should I wait to apply?

Post by Knock » Thu Sep 02, 2010 2:51 pm

minnbills wrote:Thanks in advance for any help.

My issue revolves mostly around GPA. I am a transfer student, and like others had a poor first semester at college. I finished my first year with a 3.0. Now, my GPA (since being at my new school) is a 3.5.

Based on the various calculators I've used, my LSDAS GPA should be around 3.27.

I've been pushing to graduate in only three years, and I will be starting my third and final year in a few days.