Apply now or next year?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
AtticusJimbo

Apply now or next year?

Postby AtticusJimbo » Tue Aug 31, 2010 4:13 am

I graduated from college this past spring, and I had already applied to schools this past 09-10 cycle, but midway through the cycle I committed to plans that will keep me busy for the next two years. I'm now intending to enter law school in fall 2012. I pulled my active apps, so I'll be reapplying to enter in 2012.

Initially I'd planned to sit this upcoming cycle out and apply next cycle, but would it make sense for me to apply this cycle intending to defer? I'd love to lock things down this year if possible AND I'd allow myself two more cracks at it: this cycle and (if necessary) the next one.

I think my app will be somewhat stronger next year than this one. But is there any downside (other than the obvious in fees and effort/time) to applying this cycle? If I apply this cycle and it doesn't go well, will that have a negative effect against my cycle next year?

TTH

Re: Apply now or next year?

Postby TTH » Tue Aug 31, 2010 8:05 am

AtticusJimbo wrote:I graduated from college this past spring, and I had already applied to schools this past 09-10 cycle, but midway through the cycle I committed to plans that will keep me busy for the next two years. I'm now intending to enter law school in fall 2012. I pulled my active apps, so I'll be reapplying to enter in 2012.

Initially I'd planned to sit this upcoming cycle out and apply next cycle, but would it make sense for me to apply this cycle intending to defer? I'd love to lock things down this year if possible AND I'd allow myself two more cracks at it: this cycle and (if necessary) the next one.