Applying as early as possible with October LSAT

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
katie96

Applying as early as possible with October LSAT

Postby katie96 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:30 pm

My stats--English Literature major, current 3.36 LSDAS GPA, legal assistant at a PI/medmal law firm for two years, e-board of Pre-Law Society, Honors College, non-URM. I am getting great recommendations from two professors and my boss. Straight As for the past three semesters, so upward GPA trend. I will be writing a GPA addendum to explain poorer grades in my sophomore year (I've always had to work a lot during the week because, given certain circumstances, I am the main source of financial support for my family. As a result, it took me a while to get a good handle on juggling work and school).

I am a Florida resident, but the only Florida school I am applying to is UM. I really want to go to school in NYC for various reasons, so the other schools I am applying to are Fordham, Cardozo, and NYU (obviously a stretch, but you never know).

I have not taken the LSAT yet, so I am scheduled to take the October exam. I figure it is best to send in all other application materials as early as possible though, right? Is it true that schools do not even look at your application until it goes complete with your LSAT score?

I am really hoping for acceptance into Fordham, and I heard that they start looking at applications even without the LSAT score, and that it is really important to send everything EARLY, because they are much more likely to accept people with GPAs similar to mine.

Does anyone have thoughts on my chances for these schools? Assuming an LSAT score in the lower-mid 160s? Or thoughts on applying early with the October LSAT?

Thanks!

bk1

Re: Applying as early as possible with October LSAT

Postby bk1 » Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:32 pm