Do I need a 3rd LOR?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bedefan

Do I need a 3rd LOR?

Postby bedefan » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:11 pm

Hey all,

I've got two LOR's lined up, and I'm wondering if, given the circumstances, I need a third. One is from my master's thesis advisor (I just finished a two-year master's this spring). The other is from the director of a nonprofit where I worked for a few years before I did my master's. This director is also a part-time professor at a respectable private university (he doesn't teach law and isn't a lawyer; he has a PhD).

So, that's two strong recommendations--but only one of them is from an academic I worked with in an academic setting. T-14 schools seem really to emphasize academic recommendations.

Is it crazy just to stick with the two recommendations I know will be very strong, rather than throw in a third that would be positive but not impressive? (I don't have any sure-thing "impressive" recommendations in the wings, unless I go back to undergrad, which is 6 years back.) Or is it that important to have another academic voice from a recently completed degree?

edited: for clarity

Re: Do I need a 3rd LOR?

Postby 2014 » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:43 pm

I have the same question.

beachbum

Postby beachbum » Wed Aug 25, 2010 4:47 pm

Nope, you're good to go. The heavy emphasis on academic LORs is really geared towards applicants who are still in undergrad. Those with work experience (such as yourself) are fine having a mixture of academic and work-related LORs.

wonkymonkey

Postby wonkymonkey » Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:11 pm

I am going with one work LOR and one academic as well. I think it shows a more well-rounded candidate. It sounds like schools don't want more than 2 LORs so submitting 3 right away probably won't give you an advantage to your app. You can always use your extra to send in if you get waitlisted, haven't heard for awhile, etc. Good luck!

maroonzoon

Postby maroonzoon » Wed Aug 25, 2010 7:09 pm