Freaking out about LORs!!! Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
nolegirl22

New

Freaking out about LORs!!!

Post by nolegirl22 » Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:48 pm

So I can get 2-3 LORs, but my sources might not be good ones. I have never really gotten close to any of my professors. I know that some of them know who I am, but I've never had a relationship with them. On the other hand, I have a lot of work experience and a couple of bosses who would be able to write great LORs for me.

Would not having an academic LOR be bad? Should I just ask a professor who kind of knows me, just to have an academic one..?

JJDancer

Gold

Re: Freaking out about LORs!!!

Post by JJDancer » Sun Aug 22, 2010 8:56 pm

All schools reaaallly stress that at least one (usually 2) should be from profs/TAs/people who knew you academically.
If you've been out of UG for 3+ years then have a boss write your 2nd lor but one SHOULD be from UG.
If you're in the same city as your UG then visit one prof from a class you liked/excelled in and show them your old work if you have it (papers etc), take your resume/transcript, have a convo with them about your goals etc and have them write you an lor about what they think your academic capabilities are.

kazu

Gold

Post by kazu » Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:20 pm

Yeah.. I'd second that at least 1 should be from a prof. If you've been out of school for less than 3 years, 2 would be better. I think some schools (Cornell??) require 2 academic LORs as well...

2ofspades

Bronze

Post by 2ofspades » Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:27 pm