Need-Based Aid: Want Some?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ela7117

Need-Based Aid: Want Some?

Postby ela7117 » Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:02 pm

I’ve started a few applications, and have come across questions that ask about intention for seeking need-based aid. Like most law students, I need external support (loans, grants) to fund 95% of my education. However, I don’t think I qualify as very ‘needy’. I have a good amount of savings and upper-middle class parents (no intention to contribute to law school). I know my parent’s income is taken into account when applying for need. I’ve been working for two years, and my current salary is decent. Of course, that salary wont help when I'm in school full time.

Is there any harm in selecting ‘Yes’ to these questions? If there is free money to be had, I need/want it. I don’t want to take myself out of the running for funding; however, I don’t want to hurt my chances at admission or seem greedy. I know top tier schools boast need-blind admissions, but who really knows. It has been questioned before, at least at undergrad level. Maybe my financial situation is better than most, but I’m still looking at $$$ debt over mid term.

What are your thoughts? What’s your approach?

Btw, I’m blanketing T14.

Samples from Columbia/Chicago below.

Do you intend to apply for a need-based financial aid grant? – Columbia

If you are admitted, do you want the scholarship committee to consider financial need when evaluating your file for a scholarship award? – Univ. Chicago

Article on Realistic Need-Blind & Need-Aware Admission Practices http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/31/educa ... llege.html

Aggiegrad2011

Re: Need-Based Aid: Want Some?

Postby Aggiegrad2011 » Wed Aug 18, 2010 1:09 pm