LSAT Scantron Question Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Nulli Secundus

Gold

LSAT Scantron Question

Post by Nulli Secundus » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:35 am

I am an international student, and I have a middle name but when I first registered for a LSAC account, I typed it in the first name box with my first name, because that is where its shown on my ID. My first name and middle name both have 4 letters. As far as I could see from PTs, LSAT Scantron forms have 8 slots for "first name", so I will have to write my first name and middle name together. Will this be a problem, should I send LSAC a signed form (or w/e needed) to change my middle name to a middle initial, as is the norm?

Eugenie Danglars

Gold

Re: LSAT Scantron Question

Post by Eugenie Danglars » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:41 am

You'll want to make your official name exactly like your name on the ID you will use. I have two middle names and it caused problems when I took the LSAT because only one middle initial was listed on my registration. I suggest you call and ask what they suggest. As long as you match your ID and then remain consistent, you'll be ok.

Nulli Secundus

Gold

Post by Nulli Secundus » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:45 am

Let me clarify:

This is the real situation:

First name: XXXX
Middle Name: YYYY

This is how it appears on LSAC site:

First name: XXXX YYYY
MI: None

On test day, when I get the scantron to bubble my name in, the first name slot has 8 spaces.

So I will have to do this:

First Name MI

XXXXYYYY

And since there is no space between XXXX and YYYY I am afraid something will get screwed up, is it worth fixing it by making it appear as;

First Name: XXXX
Middle Initial: Y

Thanks in advance.

kazu

Gold

Post by kazu » Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:35 pm