Poll: Whittling down 2/3 sources for LOR's Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )

Which 2 of the 3?

1)
27%
2)
27%
3)
45%

Total votes: 11

Sell Manilla

Bronze

Poll: Whittling down 2/3 sources for LOR's

Post by Sell Manilla » Sun Aug 15, 2010 10:47 pm

I am applying this coming November.
I graduated in '08 & have 2 solid work-related LORs available.

Academic LOR's

1)
300-level Soft Sciences course senior year. A.
2-semester senior project for which she was my advisor. A.
She liked me a lot, but we've only talked once since graduation, which was me calling her & talking for a while, but I did all the questions-asking & she thought I was going to ask for a LOR. So, we pretty much haven't kept in touch. She's also kinda flaky & unpredictable.
I've already asked her to write me a LOR a month ago & she's agreed. I did so 'cause she was my advisor, but I'm not sure if I should use her due to the flakiness & unpredictability.

2)
Symbolic Logic, 200-level philosophy class, Freshmen year. A. (Does this count for something?)
Ethical Philosophy, 200-level, Sophomore year. A.
300-level Seminar on a specific philosopher, Junior year. A-. [he got a 2 for easiness on ratemyprofessor.com though, & is a notoriously tough grader.]
He liked me quite a bit, but was a really social prof & I never went to get drinks with him, so I wasn't in his top top favorite list. I went to office hours frequently though, & discussions were fun sometimes. He's preeeetty old, and miiiildly senile at this point, so I'm not sure how well he'll remember our interactions. However, he said that the Ethical Philosophy class I was a part of was the single best class he's ever taught in his career. It was also the single best & most motivating class I've ever taken. I also mention him in the rough draft of my personal statement.
Have not kept in touch with him AT ALL since graduation :-(. He is also not active at all in his field.

3)