Resume help - formatting and content Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
JJDancer

Gold

Resume help - formatting and content

Post by JJDancer » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:18 pm

Most of the items on my resume have 1 or 2 bullets each. Max 3.
Would it be ok to list one item with no bullets under it?
would it look strange aesthetic wise because of how all my other things are listed?

I'm a private LSAT tutor and feel that its pretty self explanatory
if i wrote just one bullet Im not sure what I would say..
"Prepared lesson plans addressing student's weaknesses" or ...?

Any ideas?

Also is it customary to have margins all around (between .5 - 1inch) There's no way I can skip having margins on the bottom or anything, correct?

Lastly,
I'm 7 months out of UG. Is it ok to just list "Activities"
with dates and no bullets?
It's nothing I was president of or anything.
I have a separated Leadership section with 2 things.

merc280

Silver

Re: Resume help - formatting and content

Post by merc280 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:27 pm

Id be happy to look at it, feel free to pm me. Would you be interested in swapping resumes? I got mine critiqued a few weeks ago but redid it so I might need another revision.

Dany

Diamond

Post by Dany » Tue Aug 10, 2010 9:30 pm

If LSAT tutor is under work experience, it needs a description. That's the norm, so maybe just a one-line explanation? If you don't write a short description, I think it could look like you accidentally left it off. You could use the lesson plans line, or do a quantitative one (i.e. 'helped students achieve, on average, an 11 point increase in LSAT scores' or something that shows how effective you were.)

Yes, you need margins all around. If you need to cut space, a good way is to decrease line spacing from 1.15 to 1.0 - as long as it still looks neat and readable!