Who should I choose for LORs? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
NCtoDC

Silver

Who should I choose for LORs?

Post by NCtoDC » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:52 pm

So, I know there are threads upon threads in regard to this question; however, I have a special set of circumstances.

I have been working full time since I was 16 years old (I am currently 26). I got my degree from UMUC-online. I know some of you don't think that an online degree is worth the paper it is printed on, but that is not at issue here, leave the comments to yourself. I graduated Aug. 2009.

Having taken nearly every class online, and those that weren't taken online were taken at least 3 years ago, I do not have a special relationship with any professor. Today, I sent out an email to the professor of my capstone course, which I was in Spring of 2009 ( I made an A in the class and also had a memorable group project, due to the fact that a member had plagiarized their section and we called him on it 2 days before the due date!). He sent me back the "I'm terribly busy, write one and I'll give you the recommendation" response. I don't have high hopes of the other professor, from the same Spring semester, writing back with a different response. The truth is that online, unless you are struggling and asking questions all the time, the prof is not going to remember you well enough to write a good LOR.

So, with my vast amounts of work experience, would it be best to have two LORs from employers? Or, should I use one from a prof, even if it means writing one for myself and have one from an employer?

gdane

Diamond

Re: Who should I choose for LORs?

Post by gdane » Sat Aug 07, 2010 10:57 pm