October LSAT vs late applicaiton Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Ship87

Bronze

October LSAT vs late applicaiton

Post by Ship87 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:29 pm

Hey everyone. I’m writing to ask about the cost of applying later in the cycle versus the possible benefit of a higher LSAT with my scores and schools considered.

I took the LSAT in June and scored a 171. My GPA is a 3.75 and I’m majoring in Physics and Economics. I decided to take the October LSAT because I screwed up the logic games in June, which are always my best section, and because I had a practice test average of 175 before the real test. I’m fairly confident I can score above a 171 in October.

I’m wondering whether the benefit a LSAT a few points higher is worth the cost of sending my application later in the cycle. I’ll have my applications done in September so they would already be submitted and I would notify the schools that I plan to take it again in October. I’m applying to Columbia, NYU, Chicago, Penn, Berkeley, Cornell, Georgetown, and Harvard. I know I don’t stand much of a chance at Harvard and Columbia, so besides those two my choice schools are NYU/Chic/Penn.
Does anyone have advice or experience with this? I know how important the LSAT is, so I’m reasoning that even a score a few points higher might be the difference between a denial, waitlist, or admit. Or am I wrong and I should apply as early as I can? Thank you in advance for your input!

Emma.

Gold

Re: October LSAT vs late applicaiton

Post by Emma. » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:34 pm

A lot of schools won't consider your app if you are registered for an upcoming test. You might as well send them the app anyway so they have everything else and you can go complete as soon as the Oct test scores come out.

Knock

Platinum

Post by Knock » Tue Aug 03, 2010 10:35 pm