Anyone think the 4.33 A+ is a bit silly for the LSDAS GPA? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
ajmanyjah

Bronze

Anyone think the 4.33 A+ is a bit silly for the LSDAS GPA?

Post by ajmanyjah » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:38 pm

A tad unfair, no? I mean, our undergrad union actually voted down an A+ addition at our school because we felt it not only cheapened the schools reputation but also its academic rigor...

Isn't it a terrible comparison when a non existent grade at my school boosts people beyond my GPA...

Anyone else think so?

d34d9823

Gold

Re: Anyone think the 4.33 A+ is a bit silly for the LSDAS GPA?

Post by d34d9823 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:42 pm

Given that I was a minimal work A- student and not an A+ striver, nah.

Gold

Post by 270910 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:42 pm

This comes up literally every month, often more often. Everyone is entitled to their opinions, but it's worth pointing out that even schools which give out A+ grades do so exceedingly rarely. It's generally a discretionary mark reserved for unique circumstances. Less than one per class, probably substantially less than one per class. It's not like those schools routinely have graduates with 4.2 GPAs.

Obviously it's an advantage to those who secured them, but the playingfield isn't as unlevel as those from schools w/o the boost often assume.

Hannibal

Gold

Post by Hannibal » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:44 pm

Not having an A+ would be a huge disservice to the students if you also have an A-.

rundoxierun

Gold

Post by rundoxierun » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:47 pm

ajmanyjah wrote:A tad unfair, no? I mean, our undergrad union actually voted down an A+ addition at our school because we felt it not only cheapened the schools reputation but also its academic rigor...

Isn't it a terrible comparison when a non existent grade at my school boosts people beyond my GPA...

Anyone else think so?