GPA Addendum Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
DreamLaw

New

GPA Addendum

Post by DreamLaw » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:08 pm

hey everyone,

I just received my academic summary report from LSAC and I am strongly considering writing an addendum. I have a unique case, being from Quebec and graduating from CEGEP before university. I submitted both my CEGEP transcripts and University transcripts to LSAC. In CEGEP i graduated with an 87% (GPA does not exist in CEGEP), making the dean's honors list every semester and graduating with honors. I looked at my academic summary report and they converted my CEGEP grades to a 3.29 gpa, even though its supposed to be near a 4.0! I do not think my CEGEP grades should be converted to a gpa scale because it is a completely different educational system. Would an addendum help explain to admissions my situation? A 3.29 gpa is not an accurate reflector at the grades I did get in CEGEP, and of my general academic performance.

rynabrius

Bronze

Re: GPA Addendum

Post by rynabrius » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:10 pm

It seems like a good idea to write an addendum. It would be useful to include supporting material that shows what an 87% would translate into at, say, Harvard University.

This being said it is still going to hurt you a lot, since schools have to report your GPA.

DreamLaw

New

Post by DreamLaw » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:15 pm

rynabrius wrote:It seems like a good idea to write an addendum. It would be useful to include supporting material that shows what an 87% would translate into at, say, Harvard University.

This being said it is still going to hurt you a lot, since schools have to report your GPA.

my cum. gpa is a 3.51, my cegep gpa and university combined. What documents would you add? My CEGEP transcripts shows all my grades in percentages, should I add that to the addendum? Showing that my grades do not technically convert to a 3.29?

bk1

Diamond

Post by bk1 » Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:16 pm