WHY in the world do law schools request this?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
gocups

WHY in the world do law schools request this?

Postby gocups » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:32 pm

I will be going to USF this fall and they just requested 2 copies of FINAL official transcripts from every college or university you have ever attended, even as a visiting student or non-degree purposes.. I graduated from my undergraduate like 5 years ago. and attended junior college for high school running start program and another community college for continuing education. I haven't taken any classes since then and they know that from my application and LSAC report. I wonder why they want me to send these copies. Don't they already have ones from LSAC? Are they trying to verify that the transcripts from LSAC were legit? Am I the only one?

billyez

Re: WHY in the world do law schools request this?

Postby billyez » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:43 pm

This is kind of odd. I've only heard of law schools just requesting the transcript from your graduating institution to verify that you got a BA. I don't know why USF would ask for one from all the schools you've attended.

Lonagan

Postby Lonagan » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:44 pm

They want to be absolutely certain everything is kosher. They are being redundant.

That being said, I had similar thoughts about my own law school, so I called them. They told me that as long as my LSAC transcripts included my degree awarded (i.e., they were not partial transcripts because they were submitted while applying as an undergrad) and I had not taken any new courses since graduating, the LSAC transcripts would be sufficient. Maybe your school is the same, maybe not.

vanwinkle

Postby vanwinkle » Mon Aug 02, 2010 9:46 pm