unique academic dishoensty/addendum issue

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
redsox421

unique academic dishoensty/addendum issue

Postby redsox421 » Mon Aug 02, 2010 1:38 pm

Longtime lurker, first time poster here. I was hoping that TLS's collective wisdom (only slightly sarcastic) could help me figure out just how screwed I am.

So here's the issue: I'm a current undergrad at a top 30 private institution. During the first semester of my freshman year, my roommate and I were accused of academic dishonesty. Essentially, we foolishly worked together/helped each other on a problem set in a class we were both in. The result was that we both got one answer exactly wrong (both got identical wrong answer that no one else had) and were caught. We were found guilty of "unauthorized collaboration on a homework assignment," and we were placed on what the school calls Probation Level One and got zeroes on that specific assignment, although I ended up doing fine in the course itself.

The thing is, despite the scary name, this punishment is pretty much just a warning- there is no transcript notation during nor after the probation period (ended during first semester sophomore year). I am guessing that something would show up on a dean's cert letter, but I'm not sure (will ask pre-law advisor this upcoming semester). In any case, the judicial affairs officer who was on our case told us if any institution asked us if we had ever been on probation, we would have to answer yes, so of course I intend on disclosing if I ever apply to law schools. For what its worth, the judicial affairs officer seemed sympathetic to my plight and said she would be willing to write a recommendation letter or something of that sort if I ever apply to graduate schools, provided that I don't get into any more trouble.