Is it better to go to a higher ranked school & be in debt? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mattedor

New

Is it better to go to a higher ranked school & be in debt?

Post by mattedor » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:35 pm

Hey everyone,

My question is - is it better to go to a school that is say tier 1 and higher ranked but very expensive or go to a 4th tier or lower ranked school if you can go for free?

Here's some background info about me:

I graduated from Vassar College with a 3.47 GPA. I took the LSATs and scored 165. I am confident that I could get into a first tier law school (I know this isn't as important, but I also have unique internship experience that may help me stand out from other applicants).

Anyway, I have about 70k in debt as of right now from Vassar (I paid for my entire undergrad education myself, my parents would not contribute and thus I accrued a lot of debt). I'm on my own for law school as well.

I know that if I get into a first tier law school, I most likely could not get a full scholarship anywhere because of the competition. I am thinking that it may be wiser for me to go to a school that is cheaper (such as CUNY law) to avoid going into even more debt.

What do you all think about this? I've been told time and again that the education will pay for itself. People have told me to just take out more loans for law school and I will be able to pay it back when I'm a lawyer. However, people told me the same exact thing about Vassar. I was told I should go there instead of a state school and just take out loans, which I did and so far that has done me more harm than good (I'm having a tough time getting a job and paying back my student loans).

Thanks to anyone who responds to this for your feedback!

billyez

Silver

Re: Is it better to go to a higher ranked school & be in debt?

Post by billyez » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:36 pm