Will I be too late?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Gatorbull84

Will I be too late?

Postby Gatorbull84 » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:39 pm

I plan on taking the LSAT in October and apply for fall 2011. Will my application be too late and will I be better off applying for the following year?

Also, will a 160 get me into a top 50 school? My undergrad GPA is a 3.0 and my degree is in biological engineering. My masters is in Molecular medicine and my GPA is above a 3.6. I am not a URM. I was president and founder of a university organization and I have plenty of volunteering hrs.

Thanks

billyez

Re: Will I be too late?

Postby billyez » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:44 pm

It won't be late if you send it off before November.

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:48 pm

As to your scores, mess around on Law School numbers with your LSAT and undergrad GPA. Your Master's GPA won't count for much, if at all.

Bildungsroman

Postby Bildungsroman » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:48 pm

Just have all of your applications ready to go, so that when you have an LSAT to your name you can get them out as soon as possible. Oct isn't too late at all, the real mistake would be waiting until you have your score to start writing a PS, writing "Why X" essays, getting LORs, sending in transcripts, etc.

2011Law

Postby 2011Law » Tue Jul 27, 2010 9:55 pm

billyez wrote:It won't be late if you send it off before November.

Why does it need to be sent off before November? I'm hoping to also take the LSAT in October, but I graduate in December and I want to send in my application in the beginning of January with my grades finalized (hopefully about .05 higher) and also hope to get a letter of recommendation from one of my upcoming professors. Is it really that essential to get your application in early? Will I be screwed if I send in January with average numbers for the school I am applying to?

CapHillLove

Postby CapHillLove » Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:01 pm