Non credit math course and LSDAS

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Idaho_guy

Non credit math course and LSDAS

Postby Idaho_guy » Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:40 am

I took an non credit elementary algebra class my freshman year, as I'm not very good at math. It was a satisfactory/unsatisfactory course, and I got a U. I was swamped my freshman year, and I thought it wouldn't matter if i slacked off since it doesn't count against my GPA. I need to know if this will be counted in my LSDAS GPA. On my transcript the grade is given no credits, and as I said, isn't weighed as part of my ungergrad GPA.
Can anyone offer any insight into the matter?

Bildungsroman

Re: Non credit math course and LSDAS

Postby Bildungsroman » Mon Jul 05, 2010 12:42 am

http://www.lsac.org/Policies/transcript ... zation.asp
LSAC wrote:Failing Grades
Any grade notation that signifies failure (such as No Credit, No Credit/Fail, Not Passing, Incomplete/Fail, Withdraw/Fail, Unsatisfactory, Fail, etc.) is converted to zero on the 4.0 scale and is included in the calculation of the GPA, even if the issuing school considers the grade to be nonpunitive. Failure is defined as credit attempted but not earned. If a transcript is not clear about credit attempted, LSAC staff will contact the registrar at the issuing school to confirm whether course credit was attempted. Incomplete and Withdraw grades considered punitive by the issuing school will be included in the conversion. The only exception to this policy is for No Credit, Withdraw/Fail, repeated courses, and incomplete grades specifically explained in Grades Excluded From Conversion.

However,
LSAC wrote:Grades Excluded From Conversion
Those given for remedial courses only if the transcript clearly indicates they are remedial.