rising senior with a 4.0 seeks personal statement advice

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
bayside12

rising senior with a 4.0 seeks personal statement advice

Postby bayside12 » Sun Jul 04, 2010 12:03 am

I have a 4.0 in Business Management, and a 177 on the LSAT.

Am I a lock at one of HYS? From the stats, I feel like I'm pretty much in at more than one top 10 school, but HYS would be a dream come true.

I'm concerned about my age, I'm 19 right now (came in at 17 with a ton of AP, went to school every single summer to get the hell out asap, scheduled to graduate Summer 2011, go to law school directly after that starting Fall 2011, hopefully at Harvard or Yale). My second concern is my total lack of softs, I'm in the "investments club" at school as a member (joined Spring 2010, yes, I joined just for this law school app), and I'm "treasurer" of my school's pre-law club (Fall 09/Spring 10), but that's frankly it.

I have zero work experience other than high school summer crap, and my biggest "genuine" reason to go to law school is that its where I want to hide for 3 years, and my stats are good for getting in somewhere awesome. My "reason on paper" is my passion for the law. Below is the first paragraph of my personal statement. I think it totally stinks. I'm at a loss for why I want to go to law school, but I do want to go because I think law is definitely very interesting. So here goes....

Personal Statement