International GPA

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Nulli Secundus

International GPA

Postby Nulli Secundus » Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:08 pm

Currently trying to get in a Law School for a J.D. as a Turkish guy atm, and I have a question: My GPA is a-ok, but I have no idea what it will be after LSAC processes it, but according to the conversion table on their site it might get lower quite a bit. My school used 100 point grade system at the time I graduated, my CGPA was 85.65 / 100 and then my school, like 3 years ago, switched to 4 point grade system, and the official transcript they gave me & sent to LSAC says the equivalent CGPA is 3.55.

1 - ) LSAC's conversion table says 83 - 86 equals to 3.00. (OUCH). Will this what my CGPA end up being after being processed?
2 - ) The reason my CGPA sucked was my first year, since I always wanted to be an engineer but due to Turkey's awesome student placement system I found myself studying Business Administration. (!!) But after 2nd year, my grades shot up to 90 - 100s, which according to same chart is like 4.00 - 4.33. So my second question is, will schools take positive trends in consideration?
3 - ) My last question is, will schools care about international institution GPAs as much as they do about US UG CGPAs, UNDER THE CONDITION THAT, as a non-native speaker, I happen to ace LSAT. (think +176)

Thanks in advance.

Fred_McGriff

Re: International GPA

Postby Fred_McGriff » Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:10 pm

85/100 is a B which is a 3.0

It might work out differently, but it looks like a 3.0

Luis Gomez

Postby Luis Gomez » Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:13 pm

3.0 it is. Also they will see what type of school u came from. They have crazy list that ranks international schools in 4 categories.

cr073137

Postby cr073137 » Tue Jun 29, 2010 2:25 pm

Luis Gomez wrote:3.0 it is. Also they will see what type of school u came from. They have crazy list that ranks international schools in 4 categories.