Old LOR's?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
username99

Old LOR's?

Postby username99 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:56 pm

Hey all, I'm going to be applying for next year. I previously applied during my senior year of college ('06) and got three academic letters of recommendation during that time. I haven't kept in touch with my professors and it would be difficult for me to go back and get new letters (though I now have professional LORs from my bosses). Would it be to my detriment to submit my old academic LORs with my app? Would that be looked upon strangely/poorly? Obviously there would be nothing to update with those anyway, as I've had no new academic experience. Thanks for your advice.

capitalacq

Re: Old LOR's?

Postby capitalacq » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:03 pm

username99 wrote:Hey all, I'm going to be applying for next year. I previously applied during my senior year of college ('06) and got three academic letters of recommendation during that time. I haven't kept in touch with my professors and it would be difficult for me to go back and get new letters (though I now have professional LORs from my bosses). Would it be to my detriment to submit my old academic LORs with my app? Would that be looked upon strangely/poorly? Obviously there would be nothing to update with those anyway, as I've had no new academic experience. Thanks for your advice.

I think you'll be OK sending 2 of them with your recent professional LOR.

jackalope11

Re: Old LOR's?

Postby jackalope11 » Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:06 pm

capitalacq wrote: