Foolish Decision? Would appreciate your input

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Kaka

Foolish Decision? Would appreciate your input

Postby Kaka » Wed Jun 23, 2010 9:45 pm

Quick overview - I just graduated from UG (debt free) and have taken the LSAT once. GPA is a 3.4x. My only LSAT score is 160.
I am from Wyoming (capital city).

I have a bit of a dilemma. I took the LSAT last December under not so appropo circumstances and eeked out a 160. I studied for 3 months in all but had to balance studying with a ton of class work and in the end my test day performance was way below par. Anyway, I applied to my local state school and was offered a half scholarship with instate tuiton. The problem is, I am not sure I want it. My father has been a lawyer in WY for quite a while and has done very well for himself and is about to retire at the age of 55. He says he cannot promise anything if I return home but he is sure he can "find me something." The thing is, I am not sure I am ready to be confined to just options in WY with a job that is adequate when I graduate. I talked to the dean of WY Law School and I was told I could defer my admittance and scholarship for next year if I would like to do so. I am highly contemplating sitting out a year and retaking the LSAT in October and December if need be. I have done 5 PT over the last few weeks with 4 of the 5 at a 170 or better. My father on the other hand thinks that it is a foolish decision to hold a year and waste a year of earnings and my life?

Basically, the 2 options are go next fall for dirt cheap (parents cover COL and tuition) or defer my offer and retake with the hopes of doing better and getting a scholarship to a T40 school that can possibly open more doors for me and compliment by 2 UG business degrees. I am not going to lie, I would also like to have my Grad degree carry a little name prestige as it is a defining accomplishment in ones life.