Importance of Academic Letter of Rec...

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
volcom_sig

Importance of Academic Letter of Rec...

Postby volcom_sig » Wed Jun 23, 2010 12:40 am

I have a question about the importance of getting a letter of recommendation from an academic source if I've been out of school for a few years. I apologize for the length of this post, but I appreciate any advice anyone might have.

I know every school suggests (strongly) at least 1 recommendation from an academic source that can speak to your grades/learning ability/etc., but that if you have been out of school for awhile that letters from employers are fine. The unofficial cut-off I've seen/heard is around 5 years out of school.

I graduated from a medium-large state school in 2006 (I've been working for roughly 4 years) and didn't start seriously thinking about Law School until about 2-3 years ago. I didn't get any law school specific or even general letters of rec from professors before I graduated nor was I super passionate about any of my classes. I did OK, not great, in school and I worked 2 jobs, was in a fraternity and really didn't know what I wanted to do after graduation so I pretty much blended in with the crowd. I highly doubt if I go back to any of my professors (even ones that I had more than once), that they'd be able to write anything other than a really generic recommendation, if they'd even be willing to write one for me at all (I assume, maybe incorrectly, that since they have anywhere from 20 - 200+ students a semester, they must be used to having to write recommendations for students they don't know that well).

Since graduation, I've racked up a few good options for recommendations outside of academia and I was wondering if I can get away with 2-3 letters from employers. I'm also wondering if it would hurt me to just get a professor to write SOMETHING so that at I have that academic perspective...no matter how generic and unhelpful it may be.