LOR's, but no Professors Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
mst

Silver

LOR's, but no Professors

Post by mst » Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:39 am

So I'm finalizing the list of people who would be able to write fantastic LOR's for me (an organizational adviser who works as an Assistant Director for Student Affairs department), and a CEO whom I interned for last summer. These two are pretty much set in stone, and I'm confident they will make good letters. However, I go to a t50 university that is HUGE. And by huge, I mean I haven't had a class within my major or department (with the exception of JUST ONE) over the last 3 years that wasn't either 500 people large or done by video-lecture. What this means is: I don't have any close relations with any real professors or teachers at my school. I'm a solid student with a 3.6 gpa and an awesome upward trend the last 2 years, but I just don't have any professors that I even know, much less have any that would be able to recommend me. The one's I do know are graduate students and are typically in b/s classes like Theater, etc. (Sorry theater folks).

Now, I'm approaching my senior year, and apps are rolling around this fall, and I just don't know what to do. How much will this hurt my application? The student affairs adviser might comment a bit on my great grades and work ethic, but simply put I don't have any academic references... and this isn't really fair because I just don't have that opportunity at my school and in my program through the first 3 years. Should I write an addendum for this? Do I whore myself out this semester and then if all goes well, turn a letter in during the Spring semester w/ my LOCI? Or do I just accept that they'll understand that my University doesn't necessarily have the environment conducive to academic LOR's for undergraduates? Am I screwed?

lawls

Bronze

Re: LOR's, but no Professors

Post by lawls » Sun Jun 20, 2010 3:15 am