175 Lsat and community college degree

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
midwestguy

175 Lsat and community college degree

Postby midwestguy » Wed Jun 16, 2010 4:59 pm

I just discovered this website last week and thought it may be a good idea to get some advice.

I am 30 years old and live in the great state of Illinois. I did very well in high school but unfort. did not go to a full four year college because of family commitments. I have two amazing children and I have a job as repairman. I went to community college and did very well (not like it is that hard). I always wanted to go to law school and to a top tier college but I married at a young age (do not regret this decision because I have a beautiful family today).

I took the LSAT last december and earned a 175. I studied for 6 weeks off practice exams. I did not think it would be practical to consider law school, especially because I do not have a respectable degree and because of a family commitments. However, now after support from my incredible parents and my wonderful wife (who just got a promotion), they all are telling me to follow my dreams and apply.

Do I have a shot at a top tier law school? Anyone else with my background make it to a top law school? Do I have a shot at scholarships? Would law school students and employers look down at me for my background and age?

I am sorry for all the questions, but I do not know many poeple who go to law school.

kevin261186

Re: 175 Lsat and community college degree

Postby kevin261186 » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:03 pm

northwestern. /thread.

IAFG

Postby IAFG » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:04 pm

you need a bachelors

cubswin

Postby cubswin » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:05 pm

If you are content with staying in Illinois, you could almost surely attend UIUC for free.

nealric

Postby nealric » Wed Jun 16, 2010 5:06 pm