Non-Traditional Student Questions.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
380yarddrives

Non-Traditional Student Questions.

Postby 380yarddrives » Tue Jun 15, 2010 11:14 am

First of all, thanks in advance for reading this and offering any advice or experiences you may have.

I am a Non-Traditional applicant. 33 years old, I've spent 10 years building a successful career in the business side of TV advertising. I was never able to finish my undergrad when I was younger for a variety of reasons, including parental financial difficulties, having to work, and also the fact that I was a terrible student. I was also involved in a car wreck that ended up costing me an entire semester, resulting in 18 hours worth of F's back in the day.

Several years ago I decided to finish my UG degree (in Business) and to follow that with law school. Although I don't despise my career, I am interested in a change and have always loved law. I'm coming up on my last year and I'm currently getting ready to apply to Law Schools this fall for 2011 matriculation.

My LSDAS GPA counting all of my coursework is about a 3.1 and if you drop what happened over ten years ago, my GPA goes to a 3.89. I took the LSAT on June 9th, but wasn't comfortable (for a variety of reasons) so I canceled it and will re-take in October. I'm currently scoring 165-170 on PTs and I'm confident I can continue to improve prior to the October test.