Help Needed - Many Questions

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
hokie

Help Needed - Many Questions

Postby hokie » Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:12 am

Last edited by hokie on Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:18 am, edited 1 time in total.

xyzzzzzzzz

Re: Help Needed - Many Questions

Postby xyzzzzzzzz » Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:48 am

Last edited by xyzzzzzzzz on Thu Jul 08, 2010 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

calicocat

Postby calicocat » Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:24 am

hokie wrote:Hello everyone, I am new to posting but have been lurking around on the site for a few months now. First, I would like to thank everybody who have taken the time to post such great information online (such as Pithypike's study guide); it has helped me tremendously in my decision/preparation for attending law school. I am a recent college graduate (May 2009) and plan on applying to the law school for the Fall 2011. In my preparation of my applications (as my current job makes it impossible to do anything for the summer), I had several questions that I am hoping some of you could chime in on:

1. Ideally I would like to have two academic recommendations and 1 professional recommendation. I do not feel completely comfortable asking my current employer for a recommendation (as I have been working less than a year and I feel it would create tension in the workplace). Would you guys recommend getting a recommendation from a colleague? We are essentially equal in position but he has seniority and has been with the organization 6+ years.

You really only need two academic recommendations. Don't stretch it for another one from someone you are unsure of. A colleague is not an appropriate recommendation and won't help your app.