Requesting Fee Waivers?

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
lsatextreme

Requesting Fee Waivers?

Postby lsatextreme » Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:58 pm

I know this is fairly early in the game but I really want to make sure I have all my apps lined up and ready to go as soon as apps are open as I had to defer from last year's cycle due to poor preparation, etc. I remember last year I had requested a decent amount of waivers from schools but it was already into the cycle (maybe around November?) and I have no experience with requesting waivers before applications are due or even the week the applications are open. I guess what I'm wondering is, has anyone had success in the past at requesting and receiving either need or merit based fee waivers BEFORE the applications were starting to be accepted? I do not qualify for the LSDAS fee waiver btw so I've had to explain my personal circumstances and such last year.

Canarsie

Re: Requesting Fee Waivers?

Postby Canarsie » Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:42 pm

I don't know the answer, sorry. But I was curious as to how you acquired fee waivers. I'm in the process of applying for the LSAC waiver but I'm not sure how that's going to work... very hopeful. Did you explain your financial situation to each school? Did you try to get waivers based on merit as well? PM me if you'd like, thanks.

MoS

Postby MoS » Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:50 pm

Okay there are two ways to solicit a fee waiver.

Option 1: Get the paperwork from LSAC for income based fee waivers. LSAC will waive their $12 fee for quite a few applications. Most schools will automatically waive their fee to those with LSAC fee waivers.