Atypical Applicant - Input

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Causa Mortis

Atypical Applicant - Input

Postby Causa Mortis » Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:26 pm

I've got sort of an eclectic background and wanted some input on potential target programs.

Academics:

Undergraduate work was conducted at two schools: started at a low ranking state school (3.9 GPA at this institution), transfered to a top-tier public institution (3.35 GPA while there). Cumulative is a 3.55. I majored in economics and minored in psychology.

I just completed a terminal MA in economics at a mid ranking state school. GPA is 3.85, two B+'s in quant-intensive courses, one random A-, rest all As. Class rank is 2nd of 21.

Work Experience:

Between undergraduate and graduate work, I worked as a complex loss adjuster for an insurance company. I handled a lot of attorney-represented losses, learned to negotiate well, performed a great deal of what was basically simple legal writing, interpreted contract and state law, and handle pressure very well. Obviously this isn't a terribly prestigious position, but it paid well and is related to law.

I'm probably going to have to go back into adjusting in order to pay my bills over the next 18 months; I've sent out a ton of resumes in other industries and no bites. Its already done the damage its going to do.

Other:

I haven't taken the LSAT, but my GRE was 760q/680v/5.5aw. I always do well on standardized testing, and I'll exhaustively prepare for the LSAT.

I have one book review in press (on a highly controversial book in law and economics) and am coauthoring a research paper with another professor that's in an intersection between economics, psychology, and sociology.

Letters should be quite good.

Goals:

$$$, Power, Prestige. IP is of certainly of interest, market-oriented programs are as well, but I'm flexible.

Biographical Details:

28/white/male