Higher LSAT or CPA Exam

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
va_323

Higher LSAT or CPA Exam

Postby va_323 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:15 am

I am planning on applying to law schools this fall, and have accepted a position at one of the Big 4 accounting firms in the meantime. I graduated this spring with a 3.75 gpa and scored a 169 on the LSAT in september. My question is, would it be more beneficial to my application to focus my energy on retaking the LSAT (assuming that with more studying I could score 1-2 points higher) or try to pass the CPA exam (assuming I could finish all 4 parts within 6 months)?

Thanks.

Dr. Strangelove

Re: Higher LSAT or CPA Exam

Postby Dr. Strangelove » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:20 am

This is gonna be a wise-guy answer- but try to do both.
Given the economy, you'll probably want to try to pass the CPA exam..that'll help you a lot in accounting.
Can you wait till December to retake the LSAT? This will give you enough time to focus on the CPA thing over the summer.

merichard87

Postby merichard87 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:30 am

I vote that you take the CPA exams and then push back the application proceess for a year to give yourself time to get WE and retake the LSAT. If you can increase even 1 point you should be pretty beasty.

nycsoul87

Postby nycsoul87 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:49 am

pass cpa exam
get 2 years work experience/ wait out job market problems in law
retake lsat for 173+
go to law school of your choice from Columbia on down
do OCI in law school with ACTUAL WORK EXPERIENCE unlike kids straight from undergrad
BIGLAW SECURE
Profit + models and bottles!

merichard87

Postby merichard87 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:23 am

nycsoul87 wrote:pass cpa exam
retake lsat for 173+
do OCI in law school with ACTUAL WORK EXPERIENCE unlike kids straight from undergrad
BIGLAW SECURE

+ boats and hoes

DGLitcH

Postby DGLitcH » Sat Jun 05, 2010 12:48 pm

retake lsat for 173+
BIGLAW SECURE

TITCR

Dr. Strangelove