I've got some LOR questions..

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
adevotchka

I've got some LOR questions..

Postby adevotchka » Fri Jun 04, 2010 3:59 pm

I'm one year out of undergrad and was unsure about law school when I graduated, so I did NOT ask for recommendations before I left (yeah, stupid, I know). I'm getting ready to ask now, but have a few questions.

1. I now live in NYC. My old university is 4 hours away and I rarely get back to that area. I've heard it's frowned upon to ask for a LOR via e-mail. Should I suck it up and make a trip one weekend to make actual appointments with my profs, or in this case will it be alright to ask via e-mail if I explain I'm not local/working full time.

2. Articles I've read recommend providing the professors with a portfolio containing your transcript, previous coursework with their notes and grades, a list of schools to which you are applying, a resume, and a draft of your personal statement. Is this really all necessary? I don't have my PS written yet as I've been focusing solely on the LSAT and probably will be doing that until October. Also, I definitely don't have marked up coursework (do people actually save marked up papers? give them to mom to put on the fridge?). I probably have old electronic copies--will this work?

Thanks!

PS - anyone ever send out a small thank you gift to profs for doing them a favor and writing recs? I kinda want to do this but don't want to look like a douchebag or anything.

Thane Messinger

Re: I've got some LOR questions..

Postby Thane Messinger » Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:16 pm

adevotchka wrote:I'm one year out of undergrad and was unsure about law school when I graduated, so I did NOT ask for recommendations before I left (yeah, stupid, I know). I'm getting ready to ask now, but have a few questions.