Cancel test or take the score? Forum

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
Karli

New

Cancel test or take the score?

Post by Karli » Mon May 31, 2010 1:51 pm

I am taking the LSAT this June 7th, a week from today. I started studying 2 months previously, and have taken 12 prep tests, scoring consistently in the 160's. However, I really want to score in the very high 160's or ideally around a 170+. As I have only a week left, I have been contemplating taking the test and canceling, to re-take in October, hopefully studying and improving my scores in the time in-between. But then part of me says I should just have it scored, and either roll with it or then take the test again if I really believe I can improve that much more in the ensuing months. Some friends firmly believe if I really put in the effort, I can still improve my score.

What should I do? Recommendations?

Thank you so much for any input in regards to my dilemma!

MURPH

Silver

Re: Cancel test or take the score?

Post by MURPH » Mon May 31, 2010 1:54 pm

Chill.
Take the test. Do your best. If you are dissatisfied retake. Schools only care about your highest LSAT score so if you need to you can retake. If you are satisfied you can get your application done this summer and apply the very first day that they begin accepting applications, before they've read 6000 copies of the same crap. You'll have a slight advantage.

Bildungsroman

Platinum

Post by Bildungsroman » Mon May 31, 2010 3:08 pm

If you've been studying for two months and have scored consistently on 12 practice tests, it seems like your studying at this point isn't really paying big dividends. You should take it in June and accept your score, barring some tragedy (e.g. diabetic coma, family member dies before test, proctor beats you up and takes milk money). Unless you're still improving on your scores, whatever you get in June is probably about as well as you can expect to do.

MURPH

Silver