REALLY GOOD letter of rec.

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
birD

REALLY GOOD letter of rec.

Postby birD » Sat May 29, 2010 1:10 pm

My professor just sent me a copy of the letter of rec they wrote for me and it's really amazing, I've had her for 3 different classes so she knows me really well and it basically says I'm the best student she's ever had. It also goes into how I'm an amazing writer and researcher, really enthusiastic and just an awesome person in general. I'm not trying to be an ass I just wanted to let make it clear what the letter said. So my question is will this give me any significant help for this cycle, I have a pretty crappy lsat (159, and not retaking) and a 3.92 lsac gpa. I just wanted to know how helpful a good letter of rec is. Thanks!

DoubleChecks

Re: REALLY GOOD letter of rec.

Postby DoubleChecks » Sat May 29, 2010 1:13 pm

if it is really amazing, it'll be a nice positive soft boost...but not something earth shattering. in fact, it is no where near as amazing as a higher LSAT score, which for some reason you refuse to retake?

w/ a GPA like that and strong softs, you'd get into a really good school if you could bump your LSAT score up.

Casus

Postby Casus » Sat May 29, 2010 1:18 pm

DoubleChecks wrote: w/ a GPA like that and strong softs, you'd get into a really good school if you could bump your LSAT score up.

Exactly. Your letter certainly won't hurt, but it will help you a lot more if you provide further evidence that you'll be able to similarly succeed in law school. Schools look for such evidence in your LSAT score along with your GPA and recommendations. If you're able to boost it, even by a few points, it will make a huge difference.

If you are applying this fall, you can still take the June and September 2010 LSAT tests without any disadvantage for your cycle. I would strongly consider studying hard and bringing up that LSAT score. As many TLSers like to say, "don't waste that GPA."

jks289