Undergrad GPA: I have a very unique problem

(Applications Advice, Letters of Recommendation . . . )
drgodfather

Undergrad GPA: I have a very unique problem

Postby drgodfather » Wed May 26, 2010 6:47 pm

I graduated college with a Doctor of Pharmacy and have no other degree. However, a law school told me they only take undergrad GPA but the undergrad courses I took were not enough to get a degree. I did pre-pharmacy for 2 years and pharmacy for 4 years. Are they really suggesting that my GPA will come from those 2 years of undergraduate work?

hotdog123

Re: Undergrad GPA: I have a very unique problem

Postby hotdog123 » Wed May 26, 2010 6:48 pm

How did you swing getting into Pharm school without an undergrad degree?

That seems odd...

drgodfather

Postby drgodfather » Wed May 26, 2010 6:50 pm

DonnyMost wrote:How did you swing getting into Pharm school without an undergrad degree?

That seems odd...

Most programs are like that so it's not odd at all. I graduated from a school in the south and if you look at their admissions website you will see that only the pre-pharmacy curriculum is required to get in.

MusicNutMeggie

Postby MusicNutMeggie » Wed May 26, 2010 6:51 pm

Did you do one of those undergrad/pharm combined programs? A friend of mine did one of those and encountered the same problem when later applying to med schools. Try calling your UG institution and talking to an academic advisor and the registrar about it. If your pharm school is part of the same university, it's possible that they can move courses around to show that you received undergrad credit for some of the pharm courses-- instead of looking like you did two years of UG and four years of pharm school, they could make it look like three and three, or maybe even four and two. Worked for my friend-- hope it works for you! Good luck!

bradley

Postby bradley » Wed May 26, 2010 6:53 pm